New jv16 PowerTools Updated - Build 1288 Released

Discussion relating to the current version of jv16 PowerTools.
jv16
Developer
Posts: 6514
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 7:57 pm

New jv16 PowerTools Updated - Build 1288 Released

Post by jv16 »

I'm happy to announce a new jv16 PowerTools update. The version is 7.0.0.1288 and it can be downloaded from here:

https://jv16powertools.com/downloads/jv16pt_setup.exe

This is the first update to the brand new jv16 PowerTools 7.x series. You can install this update over any existing 6.x or 7.x version of the program. No uninstallation is needed nor recommended.

This update contains a nice selection of bug fixes and improvements. All of the bugs found from the original 7.0.0.1274 release were minor. The main focus of this update was to fix these minor issues plus improve the overall performance of the product, namely its speed and the responsiveness of the user interface. This is what we did and this version is on average 8% faster than the last one. There is still room for speed improvements and we will work on those next.

I hope you like this version and as always, please let me know all your feedback! Good and bad. If there is anything I can do to make the product better for you, let me know!


jv16 PowerTools Change Log Since b1274

Fixes
1) Fix: The Dashboard's hard drive listing did not honor the Ignore List. For example, if you added D:\ to the Ignore List, the D:\ drive would still be listed in the Dashboard and its content analyzed.
2) Fix: Adding data to the Ignore List in Settings did not work properly. Trying to add new rows of data to the Ignore List could clear all the old rows from the list.
3) Fix: Finder in Dashboard did not support searching with multiple search words using the | character separator. For example, "foobar | qwerty" should have searched with two search words, "foobar" and "qwerty" but this did not work correctly.
4) Fix: Running the System Cleaner did not report its progress correctly, which could have caused the user to think that the operation failed. However, this was only a cosmetic issue relating to the progress screen, not to the actual system cleaning or fixing.
5) Fix: The version number shown by Windows Installed Apps feature for jv16 PowerTools was still 6.x instead of 7.x
6) Fix: The checkboxes to choose which data types to look for in Finder did not always have enough space to fully display their content in some screen resolutions.
7) Fix: The main menu's Help menu could have been entirely empty in some systems.
8) Fix: In some screen resolutions or application window sizes, the top of the navigation menu did not have enough top margin.
9) Fix: Main menu > Tools > Backups did not always open the Backups tool.
10) Fix: In tool result lists with exactly two columns, the automatic column sizing did not always work perfectly, causing the column sizes to be set too wide.
11) Fix: In the Dashboard the vertical position of the panel top right corner buttons was a few pixels off.
12) Fix: The number of found items may have still been counted wrong in System Cleaner's results screen, when comparing the numbers in the top text panel and the bottom left corner. This bug was mostly fixed in the last build, but in some rare cases it could still occur. This was purely a cosmetic issue, but it is now fixed nevertheless.

Improvements:
1) The Initial Setup, System Cleaner and Software Uninstaller scans now run on average 8% faster than before.
2) The program now supports running the System Cleaner via command line parameter, either with or without showing the user interface. Also, an option to describe the command line based features was added under the Help menu.
3) The main user interface is more responsive.
4) The Windows Installed Apps feature will now show the complete version number for jv16 PowerTools, such as 7.0.0.1274, instead of just 7.0
5) Running the System Cleaner scan or the Finder now shows more detailed information what is going on during the scan, such as which registry paths and directories are being scanned.
6) The detection of installed software is now more accurate, which also improves the accuracy and safety of the System Cleaner. This is a general improvement, there were no cases of any damage to systems.
7) Reduced the maximum width of message boxes for easier reading.
8) The program now shows less prompts and warnings if being run within a virtual environment.
9) Many translations updated.

During the quality control for this version, we have also identified a few bugs in the new version. These are all cosmetic issues with no real user impact or risk and will be fixed in upcoming versions. These issues are listed here.

Known Issues:
1) The circular chart elements in Internet Optimizer may contain visual artefacts.
2) The text of the circular progress element in the progress screen, such as when scanning the system, can be sometimes drawn to the left side of the screen. This issue is evident if the window is resized during the progress screen being visible.
3) Sometimes the program fails to correctly fetch the icon of a running application, causing the CPU or RAM listing areas of the Dashboard to show either a missing or incorrect icon.
4) The top right corner panel buttons of the Dashboard can display incorrect color when the mouse cursor is over them.
5) The scan progress circle's line could be different in different tools, for example in System Cleaner compared to the Software Uninstaller.
6) There is a typo the new Help > Command Line Parameters description text :oops:
CSGalloway
Senior user
Posts: 132
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2006 3:53 am
Location: North carolina USA
Contact:

Re: New jv16 PowerTools Updated - Build 1288 Released

Post by CSGalloway »

The properties of jv16pt_setup.exe just have version 7 but not the full version number.
Let there be peace on Earth, and Good will towards Men
rxtopc
New user
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2021 7:42 pm

Re: New jv16 PowerTools Updated - Build 1288 Released

Post by rxtopc »

I am getting the UI issue again here on the dashboard.
Attachments
2021-10-21_13-37-45.png
2021-10-21_13-37-45.png (10.82 KiB) Viewed 432 times
2021-10-21_13-38-17.png
2021-10-21_13-38-17.png (13.6 KiB) Viewed 432 times
ledge1962
New user
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2021 10:23 pm

Re: New jv16 PowerTools Updated - Build 1288 Released

Post by ledge1962 »

Nice improvements, BUT, I am still getting this issue of the Count of Errors Vs the displayed errors? I know it is in the known bug list, but it found over 1300 errors, but only lists 65. Is it deleting the other ones without my knowing, or just the 65 it displays??
How do I check what was deleted. It works fine on my laptop?
Attachments
jv16 Tick.jpg
jv16 Tick.jpg (26.29 KiB) Viewed 423 times
JV16 Count.jpg
JV16 Count.jpg (397.66 KiB) Viewed 423 times
Last edited by ledge1962 on Fri Oct 22, 2021 5:26 am, edited 1 time in total.
ledge1962
New user
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2021 10:23 pm

Re: New jv16 PowerTools Updated - Build 1288 Released

Post by ledge1962 »

I ran it again without carrying out any changes and it only displayed 63 out of 63 (was 65 before).

For a future update, can it tell us how many files it deleted, and how much space it freed up please?
Also would request the option to move the deleted items to the recycle bin is looked at too. This could also provide a safety feature?? Not sure Reg Fixes would work

Win10, Triple Mon, RTX 2080, i7 11700k

The window defaulting to the left monitor (mentioned in the last version) does exist. No matter where I close the window, it always opens on the left screen. NOT an issue for me, just an observation.
redseujac
Super Guru
Posts: 2977
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2005 5:27 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: New jv16 PowerTools Updated - Build 1288 Released

Post by redseujac »

Dutch Translation (issue)
jv16 wrote:

Code: Select all

Improvements:
1) ...
2) The program now supports running the System Cleaner via command line parameter, either with or without showing the user interface. Also, an option to describe the command line based features was added under the Help menu.
Though translated the described command line based features under the Help menu are not showing in the translated language. Only showing in English (this is the key WEVEfaEEaWpE). I mean when clicking "Command Line Parameters" in Help the whole description starting with "jv16 PowerTools support the following command line parameters..." is showing in English. By the way there's an error in that sentence: "support" should be "supports".

In attachment you find the most recent Dutch translation version 6.0.
Attachments
Dutch(v6.0).zip
(39.05 KiB) Downloaded 8 times
AMD Ryzen 7 1800X - Samsung 970 Pro NVMe M.2 512 GB - 16 GB RAM - NVIDIA GeForce RTX 1080 - Windows 10 Pro (x64) v21H1 - jv16 PT Platinum VIP - Dutch translator jv16 PT - Forum moderator
jv16
Developer
Posts: 6514
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 7:57 pm

Re: New jv16 PowerTools Updated - Build 1288 Released

Post by jv16 »

rxtopc wrote: Thu Oct 21, 2021 8:39 pm I am getting the UI issue again here on the dashboard.
What Windows screen resolution and text size settings are you using?
jv16
Developer
Posts: 6514
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 7:57 pm

Re: New jv16 PowerTools Updated - Build 1288 Released

Post by jv16 »

ledge1962 wrote: Thu Oct 21, 2021 9:41 pm Nice improvements, BUT, I am still getting this issue of the Count of Errors Vs the displayed errors? I know it is in the known bug list, but it found over 1300 errors, but only lists 65. Is it deleting the other ones without my knowing, or just the 65 it displays??
How do I check what was deleted. It works fine on my laptop?
The program does not automatically delete anything without user's permission. This is simply a cosmetic bug relating to the counting of data. We cannot reproduce what is happening in your system but we will try to fix it nevertheless.
jv16
Developer
Posts: 6514
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 7:57 pm

Re: New jv16 PowerTools Updated - Build 1288 Released

Post by jv16 »

redseujac wrote: Thu Oct 21, 2021 10:02 pm Dutch Translation (issue)
jv16 wrote:

Code: Select all

Improvements:
1) ...
2) The program now supports running the System Cleaner via command line parameter, either with or without showing the user interface. Also, an option to describe the command line based features was added under the Help menu.
Though translated the described command line based features under the Help menu are not showing in the translated language. Only showing in English (this is the key WEVEfaEEaWpE). I mean when clicking "Command Line Parameters" in Help the whole description starting with "jv16 PowerTools support the following command line parameters..." is showing in English.
Do you mean this text cannot be translated? Did you try to flush the app's cache?
redseujac wrote: Thu Oct 21, 2021 10:02 pm By the way there's an error in that sentence: "support" should be "supports".
Yes, this is listed in the Known Issues in the release notes.
redseujac wrote: Thu Oct 21, 2021 10:02 pm In attachment you find the most recent Dutch translation version 6.0.
Received, thank you!
jv16
Developer
Posts: 6514
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 7:57 pm

Re: New jv16 PowerTools Updated - Build 1288 Released

Post by jv16 »

CSGalloway wrote: Thu Oct 21, 2021 7:04 pm The properties of jv16pt_setup.exe just have version 7 but not the full version number.
That is correct. We might change the release procedures so this version number also gets automatically updated for each release. It's not trivial to do, but might be worth the extra work. Thank you for reporting!
redseujac
Super Guru
Posts: 2977
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2005 5:27 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: New jv16 PowerTools Updated - Build 1288 Released

Post by redseujac »

jv16 wrote: Fri Oct 22, 2021 8:24 am
redseujac wrote: Thu Oct 21, 2021 10:02 pm Dutch Translation (issue)
jv16 wrote:

Code: Select all

Improvements:
1) ...
2) The program now supports running the System Cleaner via command line parameter, either with or without showing the user interface. Also, an option to describe the command line based features was added under the Help menu.
Though translated the described command line based features under the Help menu are not showing in the translated language. Only showing in English (this is the key WEVEfaEEaWpE). I mean when clicking "Command Line Parameters" in Help the whole description starting with "jv16 PowerTools support the following command line parameters..." is showing in English.
Do you mean this text cannot be translated? Did you try to flush the app's cache?
The text can be translated and has been translated, but the translated text is not showing (only the English text) even after having flushed the cache. I always flush the cache after adding a modified translation file. I have the impression that the issue is appearing for all other languages.
AMD Ryzen 7 1800X - Samsung 970 Pro NVMe M.2 512 GB - 16 GB RAM - NVIDIA GeForce RTX 1080 - Windows 10 Pro (x64) v21H1 - jv16 PT Platinum VIP - Dutch translator jv16 PT - Forum moderator
ledge1962
New user
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2021 10:23 pm

Re: New jv16 PowerTools Updated - Build 1288 Released

Post by ledge1962 »

jv16 wrote: Fri Oct 22, 2021 8:21 am
ledge1962 wrote: Thu Oct 21, 2021 9:41 pm Nice improvements, BUT, I am still getting this issue of the Count of Errors Vs the displayed errors? I know it is in the known bug list, but it found over 1300 errors, but only lists 65. Is it deleting the other ones without my knowing, or just the 65 it displays??
How do I check what was deleted. It works fine on my laptop?
The program does not automatically delete anything without user's permission. This is simply a cosmetic bug relating to the counting of data. We cannot reproduce what is happening in your system but we will try to fix it nevertheless.
Sorry, I am confused. It is displaying 1300 errors but only listing 65 for checking before deletion, so does this mean;
1. It is miscounting the 1300 errors and only 65 are real, it is deleting those 65
2. It is finding 1300 errors, but only listing the 65 of the 1300, i delete 65, but the rest of the errors remain on the system.
3. It is finding 1300, only reporting 65, but still deleting 1300 despite me agreeing to only 65

I am happy to carry out any testing you want me to do to clear this issue. If your system is not a triple monitor, and it does not happen, it may be software related. These are my specs to compare if someone else comes across this problem.
Win10, i7 11700k, 32gig DDR4 3600mhz, z590-e Gaming Wifi board, 3 x 27" VG279QM 240hz monitors (1920x1080), 2TB SSD
Don't get me wrong, I am impressed by the program and its potential.
siliconman01
Expert user
Posts: 1151
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2005 1:55 pm
Location: West Virginia USA

Re: New jv16 PowerTools Updated - Build 1288 Released

Post by siliconman01 »

Just for my info, did you decide not to implement the following suggestions in jv16 ?

viewtopic.php?p=37990#p37990

viewtopic.php?p=37996#p37996
Platinum VIP License. A clean machine is a screaming machine! Windows 10x64 Pro on Home-built ASUS ROG Maximus VIII Extreme; Windows 11x64 Pro on Dell XPS 15 9575 2in1 laptop/tablet
ray.kirkwood
New user
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2020 6:48 pm

Update problem - new jv16 PowerTools Updated - Build 1288 Released

Post by ray.kirkwood »

As a lifetime user from way back at the start of JV16, I am glad to report that the newest version is substantially better in many respects, including noticeably faster operation of the System Cleaner.

However, I am finding that the in-place update from within the program results in a virtually unusable JV16, putting up a pretty graphic of a tick and 'finishing' message and then stalling when we should be able to see the correcting errors circle progress as before.

I have three times recently had to resort to a full uninstall, downloading a new version again from your website. Then JV16 runs properly again. This results in several minutes wasted finding the way to get my perpetual licence back again. Your advice to rely on the in-place update may need revisiting?

Ray
rxtopc
New user
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2021 7:42 pm

Re: New jv16 PowerTools Updated - Build 1288 Released

Post by rxtopc »

jv16 wrote: Fri Oct 22, 2021 8:20 am
rxtopc wrote: Thu Oct 21, 2021 8:39 pm I am getting the UI issue again here on the dashboard.
What Windows screen resolution and text size settings are you using?
My resolution is 1920x1080
The text scaling is set at 100%.
Post Reply