Patreon Only Release: jv16 PowerTools 7.5.0.1475

Discussion relating to the current version of jv16 PowerTools.
Post Reply
jv16
Developer
Posts: 6688
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 7:57 pm

Patreon Only Release: jv16 PowerTools 7.5.0.1475

Post by jv16 »

Today we are releasing jv16 PowerTools 7.5 build 1475 to our Patreon members.

If you are not a member of our Patreon, you can join here: https://www.patreon.com/macecraft

An updated version of jv16 PowerTools will be released later to everyone else, possibly Thursday next week. We are doing this version as a Patreon only release to show our appreciation to our Patreon members and also to collect feedback how to make the product better.

jv16 PowerTools Change Log Since b1463

Improvements:
1) Greatly reduced the time the program spends on showing the spinning loading animation when moving between tools.
2) In the case you update an older version to a new version and your license is not automatically applied, you can now open My Account and click Apply, without the need to reinstall the program or to use the My Account's Reset feature first.

Fixes:
1) The program could display 'your trial period has ended' during the Initial Setup phase of the program, which could be inconvenient.
2) System Fixer fails to find certain types of errors, such as broken shortcuts.
3) In some systems, System Cleaner's result list could flicker every few seconds.
4) The 'working, please wait' text can move while a tool such as System Fixer or System Cleaner is scanning.
5) In some cases, when the Scan Progress screen would show up, it could display incorrect texts like 'lblCaption' or 'edtStatus' for a brief moment before the actual content was displayed.
6) In Windows 11, jv16 PowerTools would automatically create the Desktop Right Click menu option for jv16 PowerTools, but there was no way to remove it since the option to remove it in Settings > System was not visible if using Windows 11.
7) Some parts of the Settings screen could be invisible in the program was used in a very small resolution screen.
8) Installing the program over an older version without first uninstalling the old version, could in some cases lead to 'installation is corrupted, please reinstall jv16 PowerTools' error message to be displayed.
9) Uninstalling software with the Software Uninstaller could cause the waiting graphic to move around in the UI while it loads.
10) Main Menu > Help > Support or Main Menu > Help > Discussion Forum did not work.
11) My Account could display 'License expires: (unknown)' if you owned a 'for life' license. This was entirely a cosmetic issue and all perpetual licenses were honored. This issue is now fixed and My Account should now correctly display 'License expires: never' for such licenses.
12) Main Menu > Tools > Maintenance > Flush caches and rerun Initial Setup did not always work. It could just restart the program without performing the Initial Setup as requested.
13) The default ignore list of Duplicate File Finder and Big File Finder could contain registry keys. While having registry keys in the ignore list didn't cause any problems, having registry keys in the ignore list of file searches didn't really make much sense either, hence this is now fixed.


Known Issues:

1) The Russian translation does not work. Trying to use it may cause error message "Slava Ukraini" to be displayed.
2) Running tools can cause the app's UI to display a blank screen for a few seconds, or sometimes even longer. Waiting usually solves the issue, if not, restarting the scan does.
redseujac
Super Guru
Posts: 3032
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2005 5:27 pm

Re: Patreon Only Release: jv16 PowerTools 7.5.0.1475

Post by redseujac »

= Wrong Dutch translation =

The wrong Dutch translation is added, i.e. version 9.1 instead of version 9.4

You find the right version here:
viewtopic.php?p=38455#p38455
AMD Ryzen 7 1800X - Samsung 970 Pro NVMe M.2 512 GB - 16 GB RAM - NVIDIA GeForce RTX 1080 - Windows 10 Pro (x64) v21H2 - jv16 PT Platinum VIP v.7.5.1.1480 - Dutch translator jv16 PT - Forum moderator
redseujac
Super Guru
Posts: 3032
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2005 5:27 pm

Re: Patreon Only Release: jv16 PowerTools 7.5.0.1475

Post by redseujac »

= Issue with System Fixer =

The scan takes quite some time now (147 sec).

The results list takes some time to appear.

After a first scan and with the results list showing I clicked "Close". The Home window should be shown. It does, but the System Fixer results list is still showing through the Main window. Closed the app. Opened it again and ran System Fixer again. This time I waited long enough after the results list showing and going back to the Main window gave no problem this time.

It looks like the results list of the System Fixer isn't quite "stable". Maybe it's an impression of me.

I'll send you a WeTransfer link to the debug file by private message.

Edit: third scan: after "Looking for system errors" finished, the screen "Finalizing the results ..." keeps running and the results list does not show. I had to abort the tool and close the app. So, finally there is something wrong with System Fixer.

Notice: during the scan the progress bar (circle) keeps always staying at 1%.
AMD Ryzen 7 1800X - Samsung 970 Pro NVMe M.2 512 GB - 16 GB RAM - NVIDIA GeForce RTX 1080 - Windows 10 Pro (x64) v21H2 - jv16 PT Platinum VIP v.7.5.1.1480 - Dutch translator jv16 PT - Forum moderator
jv16
Developer
Posts: 6688
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 7:57 pm

Re: Patreon Only Release: jv16 PowerTools 7.5.0.1475

Post by jv16 »

redseujac wrote: Thu Aug 11, 2022 3:57 pm = Wrong Dutch translation =

The wrong Dutch translation is added, i.e. version 9.1 instead of version 9.4

You find the right version here:
viewtopic.php?p=38455#p38455
Fixed now, thank you!
jv16
Developer
Posts: 6688
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 7:57 pm

Re: Patreon Only Release: jv16 PowerTools 7.5.0.1475

Post by jv16 »

redseujac wrote: Thu Aug 11, 2022 4:16 pm = Issue with System Fixer =

The scan takes quite some time now (147 sec).

The results list takes some time to appear.

After a first scan and with the results list showing I clicked "Close". The Home window should be shown. It does, but the System Fixer results list is still showing through the Main window. Closed the app. Opened it again and ran System Fixer again. This time I waited long enough after the results list showing and going back to the Main window gave no problem this time.

It looks like the results list of the System Fixer isn't quite "stable". Maybe it's an impression of me.

I'll send you a WeTransfer link to the debug file by private message.

Edit: third scan: after "Looking for system errors" finished, the screen "Finalizing the results ..." keeps running and the results list does not show. I had to abort the tool and close the app. So, finally there is something wrong with System Fixer.

Notice: during the scan the progress bar (circle) keeps always staying at 1%.
Thank you for reporting! I'll look into fixing this before the official release.
Post Reply