Major New Version: jv16 PowerTools 7.5 (build 1463) released!

Discussion relating to the current version of jv16 PowerTools.
RedToo
New user
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2008 9:53 pm

Re: Major New Version: jv16 PowerTools 7.5 (build 1463) released!

Post by RedToo »

New version looks good!
A question. How do I stop the widget from loading with windows?
jv16
Developer
Posts: 6688
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 7:57 pm

Re: Major New Version: jv16 PowerTools 7.5 (build 1463) released!

Post by jv16 »

RedToo wrote: Mon Jul 25, 2022 11:51 am New version looks good!
Thank you!
RedToo wrote: Mon Jul 25, 2022 11:51 am A question. How do I stop the widget from loading with windows?
When the Widget opens, click its main menu button (the three lines at the top left corner of the widget), and choose "Exit and don't show again". Or Right Click the widget's main area and choose "Exit and don't show again" from the Right Click menu.
jv16
Developer
Posts: 6688
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 7:57 pm

Re: Major New Version: jv16 PowerTools 7.5 (build 1463) released!

Post by jv16 »

redseujac wrote: Fri Jul 22, 2022 4:06 pm = System Cleaner =
- no browser cookies found while this is selected in the Settings
- no browser history items found while this is selected in the Settings
Which browser are you using?
redseujac wrote: Fri Jul 22, 2022 4:06 pm - in results list: in column "found problems" left-over software category items listed while such category is not listed in the column "problem categories".
- All items in Found problems list continue flickering
Thank you for reporting! I will try to fix these.
redseujac
Super Guru
Posts: 3032
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2005 5:27 pm

Re: Major New Version: jv16 PowerTools 7.5 (build 1463) released!

Post by redseujac »

jv16 wrote: Mon Jul 25, 2022 2:48 pm
redseujac wrote: Fri Jul 22, 2022 4:06 pm = System Cleaner =
- no browser cookies found while this is selected in the Settings
- no browser history items found while this is selected in the Settings
Which browser are you using?
Mozilla Firefox and Google Chrome.
AMD Ryzen 7 1800X - Samsung 970 Pro NVMe M.2 512 GB - 16 GB RAM - NVIDIA GeForce RTX 1080 - Windows 10 Pro (x64) v21H2 - jv16 PT Platinum VIP v.7.5.1.1480 - Dutch translator jv16 PT - Forum moderator
redseujac
Super Guru
Posts: 3032
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2005 5:27 pm

Re: Major New Version: jv16 PowerTools 7.5 (build 1463) released!

Post by redseujac »

jv16 wrote: Mon Jul 25, 2022 1:44 pm
RedToo wrote: Mon Jul 25, 2022 11:51 am A question. How do I stop the widget from loading with windows?
When the Widget opens, click its main menu button (the three lines at the top left corner of the widget), and choose "Exit and don't show again". Or Right Click the widget's main area and choose "Exit and don't show again" from the Right Click menu.
You can also change this in "Settings" > "General Settings" > Unselect the line "Automatically start the jv16 PowerTools desktop widget"
Settings_Widget.png
Settings_Widget.png (30.19 KiB) Viewed 356 times
AMD Ryzen 7 1800X - Samsung 970 Pro NVMe M.2 512 GB - 16 GB RAM - NVIDIA GeForce RTX 1080 - Windows 10 Pro (x64) v21H2 - jv16 PT Platinum VIP v.7.5.1.1480 - Dutch translator jv16 PT - Forum moderator
fskeigh
New user
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2022 3:28 am

Re: Major New Version: jv16 PowerTools 7.5 (build 1463) released!

Post by fskeigh »

After installing this update, JV16 licence has reverted to "Trial" mode. I purchased a lifetime licence on 24 May 2022. A solution would be appreciated.

UPDATE: Found advice in another area of the forum: "Open the My Account tool within jv16 PowerTools, click Reset, then enter your name and email address and click Apply." This was successful. It's clear from the other trail of forum posts that several users are encountering the problem. Perhaps the prompts about licence activation in the "My Account" area could be updated so that users have information up front on what to do.
siliconman01
Expert user
Posts: 1180
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2005 1:55 pm
Location: West Virginia USA

Re: Major New Version: jv16 PowerTools 7.5 (build 1463) released!

Post by siliconman01 »

Thus far I'm not having any significant issues with 1463. However, I'm still puzzled about System Fixer. I've run System Fixer which completes in abou 5 seconds. It finds registry key items and the recommended solution on all of them is to Delete the Registry key. If I then run System Cleaner, it does not find these registry keys that System Fixer says to delete. Quite truthfully that does not make sense to me. Attached are debug folders and pics.

I've checked the "Delete" entry's that System Fixer finds in both the Registry and Windows\Uninstaller folder and I can see no reason why System Fixer wants to delete these entries. Below is one of the registry keys and C:\Windows\Uninstaller entries.
Attachments
Casper 11.0.8718.reg.zip
(712 Bytes) Downloaded 8 times
{F911C0B1-5DE9-4B95-A94C-68ACCC051D01}.zip
(92.42 KiB) Downloaded 7 times
SystemFixer.png
SystemFixer.png (161.74 KiB) Viewed 333 times
SystemCleaner.png
SystemCleaner.png (123.12 KiB) Viewed 333 times
DebugSystemFixer.zip
(390.96 KiB) Downloaded 7 times
DebugSystemCleaner.zip
(416.42 KiB) Downloaded 9 times
Platinum VIP License. A clean machine is a screaming machine! Windows 10x64 Pro on Home-built ASUS ROG Maximus VIII Extreme; Windows 11x64 Pro on Dell XPS 15 9575 2in1 laptop/tablet; Windows 11x64 Pro on Dell XPS 8940SE
jv16
Developer
Posts: 6688
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 7:57 pm

Re: Major New Version: jv16 PowerTools 7.5 (build 1463) released!

Post by jv16 »

siliconman01 wrote: Wed Jul 27, 2022 11:56 am Thus far I'm not having any significant issues with 1463. However, I'm still puzzled about System Fixer. I've run System Fixer which completes in abou 5 seconds. It finds registry key items and the recommended solution on all of them is to Delete the Registry key. If I then run System Cleaner, it does not find these registry keys that System Fixer says to delete. Quite truthfully that does not make sense to me. Attached are debug folders and pics.

I've checked the "Delete" entry's that System Fixer finds in both the Registry and Windows\Uninstaller folder and I can see no reason why System Fixer wants to delete these entries. Below is one of the registry keys and C:\Windows\Uninstaller entries.
I checked the data you provided - thank you for that by the way! - and the reason why the Casper 11 11.0.8718's uninstall key is detected as invalid and a deletion is recommended is because the key doesn't contain any uninstall information. Therefore, the key is invalid.

The reason why System Cleaner doesn't list this item is because System Cleaner is more cleaning oriented tool and doesn't perform as advanced checking of data, such as this very specific uninstall key related analysis.

I can also check the other System Fixer results if you send me the corresponding registry keys the same way you did with the Casper app.
jv16
Developer
Posts: 6688
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 7:57 pm

Re: Major New Version: jv16 PowerTools 7.5 (build 1463) released!

Post by jv16 »

fskeigh wrote: Wed Jul 27, 2022 3:30 am After installing this update, JV16 licence has reverted to "Trial" mode. I purchased a lifetime licence on 24 May 2022. A solution would be appreciated.

UPDATE: Found advice in another area of the forum: "Open the My Account tool within jv16 PowerTools, click Reset, then enter your name and email address and click Apply." This was successful. It's clear from the other trail of forum posts that several users are encountering the problem. Perhaps the prompts about licence activation in the "My Account" area could be updated so that users have information up front on what to do.
I agree: The way we communicated this was not very good and I do apologize for this! I'm also going to update the app slightly to better handle situation like this (read: there shouldn't be any reason for someone to click the Reset button, the Apply button should always be enough to apply any valid license. So this is what I will do for the next build).

Thank you for your feedback!
Dustyn
New user
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2021 4:49 am

Re: Major New Version: jv16 PowerTools 7.5 (build 1463) released!

Post by Dustyn »

Hello,

Can you please tell me how I can disable the right click menu that shows up on the Windows Desktop called, "jv16 PowerTools" which drops down another 10 common Windows settings? I don't want that menu displayed on my desktop and would like to know how to remove it.

Very odd that I can't find an option within jv16 PowerTools to disable or remove it.
I'm not a fan of programs adding new context menus that don't provide an apparent option to remove/disable it.

Thank you kindly,
Dustyn
jv16
Developer
Posts: 6688
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 7:57 pm

Re: Major New Version: jv16 PowerTools 7.5 (build 1463) released!

Post by jv16 »

Dustyn wrote: Wed Jul 27, 2022 2:14 pm Hello,

Can you please tell me how I can disable the right click menu that shows up on the Windows Desktop called, "jv16 PowerTools" which drops down another 10 common Windows settings? I don't want that menu displayed on my desktop and would like to know how to remove it.

Very odd that I can't find an option within jv16 PowerTools to disable or remove it.
I'm not a fan of programs adding new context menus that don't provide an apparent option to remove/disable it.
This can be disabled from jv16 PowerTools's Settings > System > "jv16 PowerTools menu"
Dustyn
New user
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2021 4:49 am

Re: Major New Version: jv16 PowerTools 7.5 (build 1463) released!

Post by Dustyn »

Hi again, thanks for getting back so promptly! :)

Unfortunately, I do not see this setting?

I must be either very tired or I simply am unable to locate "jv16 PowerTools menu".
I followed the steps right into System >.... but I see no entry for "jv16 PowerTools menu".

Can you help show me with a screenshot if possible?

Thanks again,
Sincerely,
Dustyn
siliconman01
Expert user
Posts: 1180
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2005 1:55 pm
Location: West Virginia USA

Re: Major New Version: jv16 PowerTools 7.5 (build 1463) released!

Post by siliconman01 »

Dustyn wrote: Wed Jul 27, 2022 3:45 pm Hi again, thanks for getting back so promptly! :)

Unfortunately, I do not see this setting?

I must be either very tired or I simply am unable to locate "jv16 PowerTools menu".
I followed the steps right into System >.... but I see no entry for "jv16 PowerTools menu".

Can you help show me with a screenshot if possible?

Thanks again,
Sincerely,
Dustyn
See Pic. There are more options at the bottom of the System GUI.
Attachments
RightClickOff.png
RightClickOff.png (69.85 KiB) Viewed 300 times
Platinum VIP License. A clean machine is a screaming machine! Windows 10x64 Pro on Home-built ASUS ROG Maximus VIII Extreme; Windows 11x64 Pro on Dell XPS 15 9575 2in1 laptop/tablet; Windows 11x64 Pro on Dell XPS 8940SE
Dustyn
New user
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2021 4:49 am

Re: Major New Version: jv16 PowerTools 7.5 (build 1463) released!

Post by Dustyn »

Hi again,

Thanks. That explains why I don't see it. The option is not present.
This is a FRESH Windows 11 install and jv16 PowerTools was never installed before, yet I don't have that option?
I am running Windows 11 22H2 22621.232 Release Preview.
Tried a full uninstall (which removed the right click desktop menu), rebooted and reinstalled. The option in jv16 PowerTools under system to disable the context menu is not present, yet it installs to my desktop menu anyways by default during install with no option to remove it. :?
Untitled.png
Untitled.png (58.11 KiB) Viewed 293 times
Sincerely,
Dustyn

EDIT: Is there a way to "manually" remove the menu since the control command isn't displaying?
redseujac
Super Guru
Posts: 3032
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2005 5:27 pm

Re: Major New Version: jv16 PowerTools 7.5 (build 1463) released!

Post by redseujac »

@jv16
Reminder for this post:
viewtopic.php?p=38457#p38457
AMD Ryzen 7 1800X - Samsung 970 Pro NVMe M.2 512 GB - 16 GB RAM - NVIDIA GeForce RTX 1080 - Windows 10 Pro (x64) v21H2 - jv16 PT Platinum VIP v.7.5.1.1480 - Dutch translator jv16 PT - Forum moderator
Post Reply