New jv16 Powertools build 5.0.0.513

Discussion relating to the current version of jv16 PowerTools.
siliconman01
Expert user
Posts: 1157
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2005 1:55 pm
Location: West Virginia USA

Re: Ignore List entries not being honored.

Post by siliconman01 »

jv16 wrote: Mon Mar 02, 2020 8:30 am
siliconman01 wrote: Sun Mar 01, 2020 5:25 pm This applies to my XPS 15 (9575) 2in1 laptop/tablet running Windows 10x64 Pro Build 18383.693 v1909. There are items in the Ignore List that keep showing up as needing cleaning both on an Aggressive and non-Aggressive scans. Pics are attached.
Thank you for reporting! Have not received any Debug data yet, can you please send that?
I responded to your PM
Platinum VIP License. A clean machine is a screaming machine! Windows 10x64 Pro on Home-built ASUS ROG Maximus VIII Extreme; Windows 11x64 Pro on Dell XPS 15 9575 2in1 laptop/tablet; Windows 11x64 Pro on Dell XPS 8940SE
thomas-k
Senior user
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2008 8:20 pm

Re: New jv16 Powertools build 5.0.0.513

Post by thomas-k »

jv16 wrote: Mon Mar 02, 2020 8:26 am
thomas-k wrote: Sun Mar 01, 2020 3:37 pm From jv16 Powertools build 5.0.0.506 to jv16 Powertools build 5.0.0.513 an old issue has returned.

Earlier the Firefox Browser was not listed in the System Cleaner Settings. Now the Edge Browser is not.

Listed are: Firefox and Opera

And the mentioned issue of build 5.0.0.506 in System Cleaner Settings was not fixed.
When you deactivate only one sub selection of a browser, the complete option will be deactivate.

Example:

Code: Select all

[X] Scan for browser cookies     =>     [ ] Scan for browser cookies
   [X] Firefox                             [ ] Firefox
   [ ] Opera                               [ ] Opera
   [X] Edge                                [ ] Edge
I'm sorry but this is not clear. Can you tell exactly which check box you click and what unwanted happens after?
This problem related to:
  • Scan for browser cookies
  • Scan for browser history data
  • Scan for browser cache data
If you only deactivate e.g. the opera browser, this affects all settings. -> Save settings -> The complete option "Scan for browser cookies" is deactivated.
Platinum VIP License. Windows 10 Professional Build 21H1 x64
jv16
Developer
Posts: 6545
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 7:57 pm

Re: New jv16 Powertools build 5.0.0.513

Post by jv16 »

thomas-k wrote: Mon Mar 02, 2020 1:24 pm
jv16 wrote: Mon Mar 02, 2020 8:26 am
thomas-k wrote: Sun Mar 01, 2020 3:37 pm From jv16 Powertools build 5.0.0.506 to jv16 Powertools build 5.0.0.513 an old issue has returned.

Earlier the Firefox Browser was not listed in the System Cleaner Settings. Now the Edge Browser is not.

Listed are: Firefox and Opera

And the mentioned issue of build 5.0.0.506 in System Cleaner Settings was not fixed.
When you deactivate only one sub selection of a browser, the complete option will be deactivate.

Example:

Code: Select all

[X] Scan for browser cookies     =>     [ ] Scan for browser cookies
   [X] Firefox                             [ ] Firefox
   [ ] Opera                               [ ] Opera
   [X] Edge                                [ ] Edge
I'm sorry but this is not clear. Can you tell exactly which check box you click and what unwanted happens after?
This problem related to:
  • Scan for browser cookies
  • Scan for browser history data
  • Scan for browser cache data
If you only deactivate e.g. the opera browser, this affects all settings. -> Save settings -> The complete option "Scan for browser cookies" is deactivated.
The option "Scan for browser cookies" means that all browser cookies are scanned. If you uncheck one browser, e.g. Opera, it unchecks the "Scan for browser cookies" as no longer not all browser cookies are scanned.
thomas-k
Senior user
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2008 8:20 pm

Re: New jv16 Powertools build 5.0.0.513

Post by thomas-k »

jv16 wrote: Mon Mar 02, 2020 2:45 pm The option "Scan for browser cookies" means that all browser cookies are scanned. If you uncheck one browser, e.g. Opera, it unchecks the "Scan for browser cookies" as no longer not all browser cookies are scanned.
Why I can not uncheck one option only? It is conceivable, that I only want to delete edge and firefox cookies!
Platinum VIP License. Windows 10 Professional Build 21H1 x64
thomas-k
Senior user
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2008 8:20 pm

Re: New jv16 Powertools build 5.0.0.513

Post by thomas-k »

Firefox bookmark problem

The "Ignore List" and the "Domains Whitelist" doesn't correctly work.

I have copied a backup of mozilla firefox profile to another harddrive and set this profile to "Ignore List".
And I have set the website of a problem bookmark to the "Domains Whitelist".

When I clean "Firefox Cache data" the website link of bookmark will be deleted, also of the backed up profile.
Platinum VIP License. Windows 10 Professional Build 21H1 x64
jv16
Developer
Posts: 6545
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 7:57 pm

Re: New jv16 Powertools build 5.0.0.513

Post by jv16 »

thomas-k wrote: Mon Mar 02, 2020 3:40 pm Firefox bookmark problem

The "Ignore List" and the "Domains Whitelist" doesn't correctly work.

I have copied a backup of mozilla firefox profile to another harddrive and set this profile to "Ignore List".
How did you set this profile to Ignore List exactly? What file path did you add to the Ignore List?
thomas-k wrote: Mon Mar 02, 2020 3:40 pm And I have set the website of a problem bookmark to the "Domains Whitelist".

When I clean "Firefox Cache data" the website link of bookmark will be deleted, also of the backed up profile.
Did you only clean Firefox cache data, or history data or some other data too?
redseujac
Super Guru
Posts: 2984
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2005 5:27 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: New jv16 Powertools build 5.0.0.513

Post by redseujac »

thomas-k wrote: Mon Mar 02, 2020 3:24 pm
jv16 wrote: Mon Mar 02, 2020 2:45 pm The option "Scan for browser cookies" means that all browser cookies are scanned. If you uncheck one browser, e.g. Opera, it unchecks the "Scan for browser cookies" as no longer not all browser cookies are scanned.
Why I can not uncheck one option only? It is conceivable, that I only want to delete edge and firefox cookies!
I agree with this point of view. It should be possible to uncheck one option only.
AMD Ryzen 7 1800X - Samsung 970 Pro NVMe M.2 512 GB - 16 GB RAM - NVIDIA GeForce RTX 1080 - Windows 10 Pro (x64) v21H2 - jv16 PT Platinum VIP v.7.2.0.1320 - Dutch translator jv16 PT - Forum moderator
jv16
Developer
Posts: 6545
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 7:57 pm

Re: New jv16 Powertools build 5.0.0.513

Post by jv16 »

redseujac wrote: Mon Mar 02, 2020 8:23 pm
thomas-k wrote: Mon Mar 02, 2020 3:24 pm
jv16 wrote: Mon Mar 02, 2020 2:45 pm The option "Scan for browser cookies" means that all browser cookies are scanned. If you uncheck one browser, e.g. Opera, it unchecks the "Scan for browser cookies" as no longer not all browser cookies are scanned.
Why I can not uncheck one option only? It is conceivable, that I only want to delete edge and firefox cookies!
I agree with this point of view. It should be possible to uncheck one option only.
This will be fixed in the next build. I agree with both of you after considering this more. Thank you for your patience!
thomas-k
Senior user
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2008 8:20 pm

Re: New jv16 Powertools build 5.0.0.513

Post by thomas-k »

jv16 wrote: Mon Mar 02, 2020 5:54 pm
thomas-k wrote: Mon Mar 02, 2020 3:40 pm Firefox bookmark problem

The "Ignore List" and the "Domains Whitelist" doesn't correctly work.

I have copied a backup of mozilla firefox profile to another harddrive and set this profile to "Ignore List".
How did you set this profile to Ignore List exactly? What file path did you add to the Ignore List?

I've copied the complete profile of firefox to D:\Tmp\ and add the drive letter to the "Ignore List". => D:\
jv16 wrote: Mon Mar 02, 2020 5:54 pm
thomas-k wrote: Mon Mar 02, 2020 3:40 pm And I have set the website of a problem bookmark to the "Domains Whitelist".

When I clean "Firefox Cache data" the website link of bookmark will be deleted, also of the backed up profile.
Did you only clean Firefox cache data, or history data or some other data too?
I've only cleaned browser datas only. I've cleaned cache data, history data and cookies.
The website of the bookmark was neither listed at cookies, history or cache data.
Platinum VIP License. Windows 10 Professional Build 21H1 x64
Post Reply